Home CSCS Card Green vs Other CSCS Cards: Which Is Right?
Green vs Other CSCS Cards: Which Is Right?

Green vs Other CSCS Cards: Which Is Right?


The CSCS card is your ticket to a career in the UK construction industry? The Construction Skills Certificate Scheme (CSCS) card is a certification that proves that you have the necessary skills and knowledge to work safely on a construction site. It will definitely open doors for you, as most construction bosses have widely adopted the CSCS card certification. If you want to work for top building firms such as The Kier Group or Morgan Sindall, then a CSCS green card is a must. 

However, there are different types of CSCS cards available. You can think of CSCS cards a little like belts that you would earn doing martial arts. The colour coding of the card is a way to display your skill level to others in the industry. 

In this blog post, we’ll provide a detailed overview of the different CSCS card types in the UK.

Why you need a CSCS card

CSCS Card Types in the UK

The different CSCS card types in the UK in order from lowest to highest skill level are:

  • Green CSCS Card
  • Red CSCS Card
  • Blue CSCS Card
  • Gold CSCS Card
  • Black CSCS Card
  • Yellow CSCS Card (for non-construction workers)

Let’s take a closer look at each of these card types.

Green CSCS Card

The Green CSCS Card is the most basic level of certification and is suitable for individuals who are new to the construction industry. This card is ideal for security professionals, labourers and cleaners for example. To obtain a Green CSCS Card, you must complete a CSCS Green Card training course and pass the CITB Health, Safety and Environment Test. The CSCS green card is a minimum requirement to be allowed on most construction sites, proving that you can keep yourself and others safe. To kick-start, a construction career, sign up for an online Green CSCS Card course today. 

Red CSCS Card

The Red CSCS Card is for people on a recognised apprenticeship working towards a Blue CSCS Card. This card is valid for four years and six months. After which, you will be expected to have finished your apprenticeship and apply for a blue card. You cannot renew a red card. To obtain a Red CSCS Card, you must pass the CITB Health, Safety and Environment Test and prove your qualifications and work experience.

Blue CSCS Card

The Blue CSCS Card is for more skilled workers who have completed an apprenticeship, NVQ, or other industry-recognised qualification. This card is ideal for carpenters, bricklayers, and other skilled tradespeople. To obtain a Blue CSCS Card, you must already be a Green CSCS card holder, pass the CITB Health, Safety and Environment Test and provide proof of your Level 2 NVQ qualification. You can learn more about getting your Blue CSCS Card here. 

Gold CSCS Card

The Gold CSCS Card is for supervisors and managers with a higher responsibility level on a construction site. To obtain a Gold CSCS Card, you must pass the CITB Health, Safety and Environment Test and provide proof of your Construction Related NVQ or SVQ level 3 qualification and work experience.

Black CSCS Card

The Black CSCS Card is for managers who have achieved a higher level of qualification and expertise in their field. Those holding a black CSCS card typically have completed a relevant Construction Management/Technical related NVQ/SVQ level 5, 6 or 7, an SVQ Level 4 in Construction Management/Technical related qualification or have a pre-existing NVQ level 4 in construction management. This card is suitable for construction site managers, project managers, and other high-level positions. To obtain a Black CSCS Card, you must pass the CITB Health, Safety and Environment Test and prove your qualifications and work experience.

Yellow CSCS Card

The Yellow CSCS Card is for individuals who might visit a construction site but do not have a formal qualification in the industry. The qualification is no longer being issued as of February 2020, but the cards are still valid. A CSCS Operative Assessment, including a knowledge assessment and a practical assessment, was required for the Yellow CSCS Card. 

Your Framework to success

The CSCS card system is an industry-instilled scheme. It can be challenging to know who is the boss and who is the labourer if everyone is getting their hands dirty. The badge scheme allows you to recognise other workers and their level of seniority. Just like in any industry, it’s a learning curve; as you gain skills and qualifications, you’ll also increase your pay! The CSCS card scheme is a great framework to use to build your career. 

You’ll start with a CSCS Green Card to get you on site. But if you are a hard worker, then approach your supervisor to get a CSCS Red Apprentice card, which is free. After working through your apprenticeship, your next step as a skilled worker is to get your blue card. 

If you have ambitions of management then you can work towards a gold card and if you want a top job you will have to work hard to gain a black card indicating expertise in your field.  


As you can see, there are several different CSCS card types in the UK, providing a framework for training and recognition of seniority. The construction industry can be an exciting career where you are expected to learn on the job, gain status, skills and more pay. If you want to get into the construction industry and don’t have your CSCS Green Card, what are you waiting for? Invest in your career and book an online course today!

Start your career now with our courses! Click here to begin.


Your email address will not be published.