Once your training is completed you are required to sit for SIA test.

Changes to Required Training & Qualifications

SIA tests varies for each course, with the new QCF (Qualification Credit Framework) which is a modular format available from March 2010 for CCTV, Security Guarding and Vehicle Immobilisation, and from June 2010 for Door Supervision qualification, there is a common mandatory module which must be achieved by all new entrants in the Security Industry. After completion of the mandatory common module additional specialised modules must be completed to gain the full qualification to apply for SIA Licence.

The new modular format qualifications are now available for CCTV Operator, Security Guarding and Vehicle Immobilisation. The new qualification for Level 2 Door Supervision will be available from June 2010 with an additional Escorting and Disengagement module.

All old qualifications gained with in last three years before the introduction of the QCF will be accepted by the SIA.

Please click here to visit SIA's website for more information.

Upon completion and submission of your completed exam papers you have successfully completed Step 1 (SIA Training Course) and Step 2 (Pass SIA Test).

Below is additional information about SIA test based on our most frequently asked questions.

Assessment methods

Each unit is assessed by a separate multiple choice test which is externally set and marked by one of the awarding bodies, some of the bodies are ASET, BIIAB, City&Guilds and Edexcel.

Our contracted SIA training providers are approved by CITY & GUILDS, EDEXCEL and NCFE. The awarding and assessment quality policy and procedures are available in their handbook and on their respective websites. Learners claiming exception from part of the training must supply original certificates. It is the duty of the centres to ensure that these comply with the listed Security Industry Authority exemptions.

Click to read further

Assessment and Grading Criteria

Each unit is achieved by meeting the assessment criteria outlined in the unit specification. All of the assessment criteria must be met for the units offered; high achievement in one unit cannot compensate for failure to achieve all the assessment criteria for the other unit. The SIA certificate is awarded to learners who pass the mandatory units. There are no further categories of pass; the SIA certificate is not graded.

Determining and Reporting of Results

The awarding body procedures on assessment and internal quality control are available on their respective websites.

City & Guilds


SIA Licence Training

Appeals Procedure

All candidates or trainees have the right to appeal the assessment decision if they feel the assessment process has not made an appropriate assessment of their competence.

Get Licensed App
Test your knowledge, get access to free learning materials and find work - all in the same app.
Get download link to your phone
Uk Flag
Apps Store Play Store

Here to help

We are open 6am to 8pm on weekdays and 9am to 6pm on weekends. If you need help outside these hours, visit our help page to find answers to the most commonly asked questions.

⚠️ FOMO Alert

Get the latest news, tips and offers to your inbox

Certifications and Validations

image image image image

Payment options

Cards accepted

Interest-free instalments