HGV (Heavy Goods Vehicle) Licence

Get your HGV Licence (Category C, C+E, C1, C1+E) to drive Heavy Goods Vehicles above 3.5 tonnes in the United Kingdom.


HGV Licence


DVLA (Driver and Vehicle Licensing Agency)

VALID FOR 5 years
ELIGIBILITY 18 years old, Full Cat. B Licence; Pass a medical test, pass a practical test, CPC certificate
QUALIFICATION(S) NEEDED CPC (Certificate of Professional Competence)

Apply for the provisional vehicle operator licence

Official DVSA Website

Book your theory test


Book your driving ability test (practical)


Complete practical demonstration test


Order your NVT Card

Get Licenced

What is the HGV Licence?

Are you interested in becoming a Lorry Driver? Getting your HGV Licence is the first step to an exciting new career as a Lorry Driver.


We make having a HGV licence a simple, stress-free process âś…


HGV stands for Heavy Goods Vehicle.  It can also be referred to as LGV, which stands for Large Goods Vehicle.


The HGV Licence enables individuals to operate trucks or lorries that are more than 3.5 tonnes. HGV Licences fall under the following driving licence categories: C, C+E, C1 and C1+E. HGV Licences are valid for 5 years and are issued by DVSA (Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency). 


To acquire the HGV Licence, you are required to successfully complete special training and pass a theory test. HGV Licence holders typically work for logistics companies as professional drivers. 


Did you know? There is a serious shortage of HGV Drivers in the UK? Now is the best time ever to kick-start a career in this sector.



Do I need a HGV Licence?

If you wish to drive a vehicle over 3.5 tonnes, you require a HGV Licence. You cannot use your regular full driver's licence (Category B) to do this. It is illegal and your licence can be taken away. Instead, you will need to acquire one of the following categories: C, C+E, C1 and C1+E.


Note - Vehicles in this category are often referred to as rigid.




To be eligible for a HGV Licence, you need to be above the age of 18, hold a full Driver CPC and pass the theory and practical test.


What is the CPC?

CPC stands for Certificate of Professional Competence. It is required if you operate a commercial vehicle above 3.5 tonnes. That means, as part of acquiring your HGV Licence, you will need to obtain the CPC Qualification. 


To gain the qualification, there are 4 parts:


âś… Step 1: Theory test (same test as HGV)

âś… Step 2: Driver CPC case study test

âś… Step 3: Driving ability test (same test as HGV)

âś… Step 4: Driver CPC demonstration test


✏️ Note: You don't need the CPC for private, noncommercial driving. 


​How to apply for the HGV Licence

There are several simple steps you need to follow to acquire your HGV Licence:


Apply for the provisional vehicle operator licence

Visit the DVSA Website to begin your application. 


âś… Book your theory test

The theory test has 3 parts! Multiple choice, hazard perception and case studies. Make sure you have prepared for them.  You will receive your results on the day of the test. 

The total cost of booking all the parts is £60.


âś… Book your driving ability test (practical)

This is also known as the Driver CPC part 3 test - driving ability. It lasts for 1 hour and 30 minutes. You will cover vehicle safety, road driving and off-road exercises. You are required to bring your own vehicle. Ensure you also have appropriate photocard identification. You receive your results on the day of the test.

The cost of booking is £115.


âś…Complete practical demonstration test

Here you will be tested on your safety and best practices knowledge. At the end of your test the examiner will tell you if you’ve passed.

The cost of booking this is £25.


âś…NVT Card

Finally, once your tests are successfully over, you can order your NVT concession card - which represents that you have obtained your National Vocational Training. It is a legal requirement for you to carry this card.

This normally costs £25.


HGV Licence Training

To pass your practical, you need to complete at least 35 hours. There are multiple providers who offer HGV/LGV or CPC training.


HGV Licence Cost

The  total cost of the HGV licence, including the cost of test fee is £225. This is assuming you don't fail any of the tests. This figure does not take into account training costs. 


HGV Licence Renewal

Your HGV Licence is valid for 5 years. After this point, you will need to renew it by undertaking 35 hours of practical HGV training to ensure that your knowledge is fresh and up to date with safety advances. 


HGV stands for Heavy Goods Vehicle and LGV stands for Large Goods Vehicle. They both refer to the same type of vehicle. I.e. vehicles that are more than 3.5 tonnes. Such vehicles include trucks and lorries. 
To be eligible for a HGV Licence, you need to have a full Driving Licence (Category B). The HGV Licence enables you to operate larger vehicles (above 3.5 tonnes) in the following categories: C, C+E, C1 and C1+E. You will require additional training which builds on your existing driving skills. 
CPC stands for Certificate of Professional Competence. If you wish to operate commercial vehicles above 3.5 tonnes (i.e. those in the HGV/LGV category), you will need to obtain the CPC Qualification. The assessments for this include: Theory test (same test as HGV) , Driver CPC case study test, Driving ability test (same test as HGV) and Driver CPC demonstration test. 
To obtain the HGV Licence, you need to pass several tests. Together, they cost £225. However, the cost of training is where the bulk of costs lie.
The HGV Licence enables you to operate heavy duty vehicles, such as lorries and trucks. Typical work includes working in logistics as a driver. Individuals with the HGV Licence are in high demand and should face no issues with finding work - especially with the rise of e-commerce and online shopping!
Your HGV Licence expires after 5 years. After this time, you are required to take 35 hours of training and renew your Licence.

Certifications and Verifications

Ukas logo
Cyber essential logo
Armed logo
Trustpilot logo
Stripe logo