Find the Best Personal Licence (APLH) Courses | Get Licensed


A Personal Licence is the perfect course if you authorise the sale of alcohol. If you are looking to advance your career in the hospitality industry or open your own establishment this is the course for you.

Course NAME

Personal Licence (APLH )

DURATION 1-day
FROM £149.99
MANDATORY REQUIREMENT FOR Award for Personal Licence Holders (APLH)
ELIGIBILITY 18+ years
ENTRY REQUIREMENTS Work in a sector that requires sale of alcohol

COURSE UNITS
ASSESSMENT

Multiple Choice Exam (40 questions)

Get Licenced

Personal Licence Course Details

The Level 2 Award for Personal Licence Holders, also known as the APLH Licence, is the basic requirement for selling alcohol within a retail environment. 

The Personal Licence  Course leads to the Level 2 Award for Personal Licence Holders. This ensures that hospitality workers, bar staff and event managers have attained the necessary skills and qualifications to operate legally, whilst also maintaining a safe environment for their customers, employees and co-workers.

The APLH Personal Licence course is a statutory requirement for people involved in the sale of alcohol. It ensures people do so responsibly, as well as maintain standards to minimise alcohol abuse.

 

This Personal Licence course will provide you with the relevant training and accreditation required to legally sell and authorise the sale of alcohol at any licensed premises in England and Wales for those looking to pursue a career in hospitality and the bar industry.

One of the key skills that the Personal Licence course (APLH) provides is the ability to understand and implement the requirements of the Licensing Act within the workplace.

The sale of alcohol without the approved authorisation carries a maximum penalty on conviction of a fine of £20,000 and/or 6 months imprisonment.

How can I get a Personal Licence?

Getting your Personal Licence may seem like a long-winded process. A detailed application process guide is available in the Application Process section on this page. The process, in summary, can be broken into 3 simple steps: 

  • Step 1: Book and attend the Personal Licence course
  • Step 2: Get certified by passing the course.
  • Step 3: Complete the licence application which will be available from your local council's website.

If you are based in Scotland you will need to apply for a Scottish Certificate for Personal Licence Holder (SCPLH).

This course is also available as an online course.

Personal Licence Course Content

The Personal Licence Course runs over 1-day and is divided into the following units:

  • Licensing authorities
  • Personal and premises licences
  • Operating schedules
  • Permitted temporary activities
  • Unauthorised licensable activities
  • Police powers and rights of entry
  • Legal and social responsibilities of the personal licence holder
  • Illegal drugs, the effects of alcohol and disorderly conduct
  • Protection of children

Personal Licence Course Assessment

At the end of your Persona Licence training course, a 40-question multiple choice exam will be conducted. The questions on this exam are covered on your course. 

We understand that examinations can be daunting. However, with our nationwide high plus passing rates, you have nothing to worry about!

Upcoming course dates

Aylesbury
Fri 30th Aug - Fri 30th Aug
From £149.99
Aylesbury
Fri 25th Oct - Fri 25th Oct
From £149.99
Aylesbury
Fri 20th Dec - Fri 20th Dec
From £149.99
Bangor
Tue 22nd Oct - Tue 22nd Oct
From £149.99
Bath
Fri 27th Sep - Fri 27th Sep
From £149.99
Bath
Tue 26th Nov - Tue 26th Nov
From £149.99
Birmingham
Mon 26th Aug - Mon 26th Aug
From £149.99
Birmingham
Mon 23rd Sep - Mon 23rd Sep
From £149.99
Birmingham
Mon 21st Oct - Mon 21st Oct
From £149.99
Birmingham
Mon 18th Nov - Mon 18th Nov
From £149.99
Birmingham
Mon 16th Dec - Mon 16th Dec
From £149.99
Blackpool - APLH
Thu 05th Sep - Thu 05th Sep
From £179.99
Blackpool - APLH
Thu 10th Oct - Thu 10th Oct
From £179.99
Blackpool - APLH
Thu 07th Nov - Thu 07th Nov
From £179.99
Bolton
Wed 04th Sep - Wed 04th Sep
From £149.99
Bolton
Wed 02nd Oct - Wed 02nd Oct
From £149.99
Bolton
Wed 30th Oct - Wed 30th Oct
From £149.99
Bolton
Wed 27th Nov - Wed 27th Nov
From £149.99
Bolton
Wed 18th Dec - Wed 18th Dec
From £149.99
Bournemouth - APLH
Tue 03rd Sep - Tue 03rd Sep
From £128.99
Bournemouth - APLH
Tue 01st Oct - Tue 01st Oct
From £128.99
Bournemouth - APLH
Tue 05th Nov - Tue 05th Nov
From £128.99
Bournemouth - APLH
Tue 03rd Dec - Tue 03rd Dec
From £128.99
Bradford - BD1
Wed 11th Sep - Wed 11th Sep
From £149.99
Bradford - BD1
Wed 13th Nov - Wed 13th Nov
From £149.99
Brighton - APLH
Wed 11th Sep - Wed 11th Sep
From £179.99
Brighton - APLH
Wed 09th Oct - Wed 09th Oct
From £179.99
Brighton - APLH
Wed 13th Nov - Wed 13th Nov
From £179.99
Brighton - APLH
Wed 11th Dec - Wed 11th Dec
From £179.99
Bristol
Wed 04th Sep - Wed 04th Sep
From £149.99
Bristol
Wed 02nd Oct - Wed 02nd Oct
From £149.99
Bristol
Wed 30th Oct - Wed 30th Oct
From £149.99
Bristol
Wed 27th Nov - Wed 27th Nov
From £149.99
Cardiff
Mon 19th Aug - Mon 19th Aug
From £149.99
Cardiff
Mon 16th Sep - Mon 16th Sep
From £149.99
Cardiff
Mon 14th Oct - Mon 14th Oct
From £149.99
Cardiff
Mon 11th Nov - Mon 11th Nov
From £149.99
Cardiff
Mon 09th Dec - Mon 09th Dec
From £149.99
Carlisle
Wed 18th Sep - Wed 18th Sep
From £179.99
Carlisle
Wed 16th Oct - Wed 16th Oct
From £179.99
Carlisle
Wed 13th Nov - Wed 13th Nov
From £179.99
Carlisle
Wed 11th Dec - Wed 11th Dec
From £179.99
Chatham
Fri 20th Sep - Fri 20th Sep
From £149.99
Chatham
Fri 15th Nov - Fri 15th Nov
From £149.99
Chelmsford
Wed 28th Aug - Wed 28th Aug
From £149.99
Chelmsford
Wed 25th Sep - Wed 25th Sep
From £149.99
Chelmsford
Wed 23rd Oct - Wed 23rd Oct
From £149.99
Chelmsford
Wed 20th Nov - Wed 20th Nov
From £149.99
Chelmsford
Wed 18th Dec - Wed 18th Dec
From £149.99
Chester - APLH
Thu 12th Sep - Thu 12th Sep
From £149.99
Chester - APLH
Thu 24th Oct - Thu 24th Oct
From £149.99
Chester - APLH
Mon 09th Dec - Mon 09th Dec
From £149.99
Derby - APLH
Thu 26th Sep - Thu 26th Sep
From £149.99
Derby - APLH
Thu 07th Nov - Thu 07th Nov
From £149.99
Hull - Central
Thu 22nd Aug - Thu 22nd Aug
From £149.99
Hull - Central
Thu 03rd Oct - Thu 03rd Oct
From £149.99
Hull - Central
Thu 28th Nov - Thu 28th Nov
From £149.99
Ipswich
Mon 19th Aug - Mon 19th Aug
From £149.99
Ipswich
Mon 14th Oct - Mon 14th Oct
From £149.99
Ipswich
Mon 09th Dec - Mon 09th Dec
From £149.99
Kendal
Fri 30th Aug - Fri 30th Aug
From £179.99
Kendal
Fri 27th Sep - Fri 27th Sep
From £179.99
Kendal
Fri 25th Oct - Fri 25th Oct
From £179.99
Kendal
Fri 29th Nov - Fri 29th Nov
From £179.99
Kendal
Fri 27th Dec - Fri 27th Dec
From £179.99
Kidderminster
Fri 27th Sep - Fri 27th Sep
From £104.99
Lancaster
Mon 09th Sep - Mon 09th Sep
From £179.99
Lancaster
Mon 07th Oct - Mon 07th Oct
From £179.99
Lancaster
Mon 11th Nov - Mon 11th Nov
From £179.99
Lancaster
Mon 09th Dec - Mon 09th Dec
From £179.99
Leeds
Mon 02nd Sep - Mon 02nd Sep
From £149.99
Leeds
Mon 30th Sep - Mon 30th Sep
From £149.99
Leeds
Mon 28th Oct - Mon 28th Oct
From £149.99
Leeds
Mon 25th Nov - Mon 25th Nov
From £149.99
Leeds
Mon 23rd Dec - Mon 23rd Dec
From £149.99
Leicester
Wed 04th Sep - Wed 04th Sep
From £149.99
Leicester
Wed 02nd Oct - Wed 02nd Oct
From £149.99
Leicester
Wed 30th Oct - Wed 30th Oct
From £149.99
Leicester
Wed 27th Nov - Wed 27th Nov
From £149.99
Leigh
Thu 17th Oct - Thu 17th Oct
From £149.99
Leigh
Wed 27th Nov - Wed 27th Nov
From £149.99
Liverpool
Wed 04th Sep - Wed 04th Sep
From £149.99
Liverpool
Wed 02nd Oct - Wed 02nd Oct
From £149.99
Liverpool
Wed 30th Oct - Wed 30th Oct
From £149.99
Liverpool
Wed 27th Nov - Wed 27th Nov
From £149.99
London-Central
Wed 04th Sep - Wed 04th Sep
From £149.99
London-Central
Wed 02nd Oct - Wed 02nd Oct
From £149.99
London-Central
Wed 30th Oct - Wed 30th Oct
From £149.99
London-Central
Mon 25th Nov - Mon 25th Nov
From £149.99
London-Croydon
Wed 18th Sep - Wed 18th Sep
From £149.99
London-Croydon
Wed 16th Oct - Wed 16th Oct
From £149.99
London-Croydon
Wed 13th Nov - Wed 13th Nov
From £149.99
London-Croydon
Wed 11th Dec - Wed 11th Dec
From £149.99
London-East Ham
Fri 13th Sep - Fri 13th Sep
From £149.99
London-East Ham
Fri 11th Oct - Fri 11th Oct
From £149.99
London-East Ham
Fri 08th Nov - Fri 08th Nov
From £149.99
London-East Ham
Fri 06th Dec - Fri 06th Dec
From £149.99
London-Enfield
Tue 10th Sep - Tue 10th Sep
From £149.99
London-Enfield
Tue 08th Oct - Tue 08th Oct
From £149.99
London-Enfield
Tue 05th Nov - Tue 05th Nov
From £149.99
London-Enfield
Tue 03rd Dec - Tue 03rd Dec
From £149.99
London-Finsbury Park
Tue 10th Sep - Tue 10th Sep
From £149.99
London-Finsbury Park
Tue 08th Oct - Tue 08th Oct
From £149.99
London-Finsbury Park
Tue 05th Nov - Tue 05th Nov
From £149.99
London-Finsbury Park
Tue 03rd Dec - Tue 03rd Dec
From £149.99
London-Harrow
Fri 06th Sep - Fri 06th Sep
From £149.99
London-Harrow
Fri 04th Oct - Fri 04th Oct
From £149.99
London-Harrow
Fri 01st Nov - Fri 01st Nov
From £149.99
London-Harrow
Fri 29th Nov - Fri 29th Nov
From £149.99
London-Mile-End
Fri 13th Sep - Fri 13th Sep
From £149.99
London-Mile-End
Fri 11th Oct - Fri 11th Oct
From £149.99
London-Mile-End
Fri 08th Nov - Fri 08th Nov
From £149.99
London-Mile-End
Fri 06th Dec - Fri 06th Dec
From £149.99
London-Oxford Circus
Mon 19th Aug - Mon 19th Aug
From £149.99
London-Oxford Circus
Mon 16th Sep - Mon 16th Sep
From £149.99
London-Oxford Circus
Mon 14th Oct - Mon 14th Oct
From £149.99
London-Oxford Circus
Mon 11th Nov - Mon 11th Nov
From £149.99
London-Oxford Circus
Mon 09th Dec - Mon 09th Dec
From £149.99
London-Stratford
Fri 13th Sep - Fri 13th Sep
From £149.99
London-Stratford
Fri 11th Oct - Fri 11th Oct
From £149.99
London-Stratford
Fri 08th Nov - Fri 08th Nov
From £149.99
London-Stratford
Fri 06th Dec - Fri 06th Dec
From £149.99
London-Wembley
Fri 06th Sep - Fri 06th Sep
From £149.99
London-Wembley
Fri 04th Oct - Fri 04th Oct
From £149.99
London-Wembley
Fri 01st Nov - Fri 01st Nov
From £149.99
London-Wembley
Fri 29th Nov - Fri 29th Nov
From £149.99
London-Willesden Green
Fri 06th Sep - Fri 06th Sep
From £149.99
London-Willesden Green
Fri 04th Oct - Fri 04th Oct
From £149.99
London-Willesden Green
Fri 01st Nov - Fri 01st Nov
From £149.99
London-Willesden Green
Fri 29th Nov - Fri 29th Nov
From £149.99
London-Wood Green
Tue 10th Sep - Tue 10th Sep
From £149.99
London-Wood Green
Tue 08th Oct - Tue 08th Oct
From £149.99
London-Wood Green
Tue 05th Nov - Tue 05th Nov
From £149.99
London-Wood Green
Tue 03rd Dec - Tue 03rd Dec
From £149.99
Manchester
Tue 03rd Sep - Tue 03rd Sep
From £149.99
Manchester
Tue 01st Oct - Tue 01st Oct
From £149.99
Manchester
Tue 29th Oct - Tue 29th Oct
From £149.99
Manchester
Tue 26th Nov - Tue 26th Nov
From £149.99
Manchester
Tue 24th Dec - Tue 24th Dec
From £149.99
Middlesbrough - APLH
Tue 27th Aug - Tue 27th Aug
From £179.99
Middlesbrough - APLH
Tue 24th Sep - Tue 24th Sep
From £179.99
Middlesbrough - APLH
Fri 18th Oct - Fri 18th Oct
From £179.99
Middlesbrough - APLH
Mon 25th Nov - Mon 25th Nov
From £179.99
Middlesbrough - APLH
Fri 20th Dec - Fri 20th Dec
From £179.99
Milton Keynes
Fri 30th Aug - Fri 30th Aug
From £149.99
Milton Keynes
Fri 27th Sep - Fri 27th Sep
From £149.99
Milton Keynes
Fri 25th Oct - Fri 25th Oct
From £149.99
Milton Keynes
Fri 22nd Nov - Fri 22nd Nov
From £149.99
Milton Keynes
Fri 20th Dec - Fri 20th Dec
From £149.99
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Mon 09th Sep - Mon 09th Sep
From £149.99
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Mon 07th Oct - Mon 07th Oct
From £149.99
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Mon 04th Nov - Mon 04th Nov
From £149.99
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Mon 02nd Dec - Mon 02nd Dec
From £149.99
Norwich
Wed 11th Sep - Wed 11th Sep
From £149.99
Norwich
Wed 06th Nov - Wed 06th Nov
From £149.99
Nottingham
Wed 04th Sep - Wed 04th Sep
From £149.99
Nottingham
Wed 02nd Oct - Wed 02nd Oct
From £149.99
Nottingham
Wed 30th Oct - Wed 30th Oct
From £149.99
Nottingham
Wed 27th Nov - Wed 27th Nov
From £149.99
Peterborough - APLH
Fri 30th Aug - Fri 30th Aug
From £179.99
Peterborough - APLH
Fri 27th Sep - Fri 27th Sep
From £179.99
Peterborough - APLH
Thu 31st Oct - Thu 31st Oct
From £179.99
Peterborough - APLH
Fri 29th Nov - Fri 29th Nov
From £179.99
Plymouth
Mon 16th Sep - Mon 16th Sep
From £149.99
Plymouth
Mon 11th Nov - Mon 11th Nov
From £149.99
Portsmouth
Mon 09th Sep - Mon 09th Sep
From £149.99
Portsmouth
Mon 07th Oct - Mon 07th Oct
From £149.99
Portsmouth
Mon 04th Nov - Mon 04th Nov
From £149.99
Portsmouth
Mon 02nd Dec - Mon 02nd Dec
From £149.99
Preston
Thu 22nd Aug - Thu 22nd Aug
From £179.99
Preston
Thu 19th Sep - Thu 19th Sep
From £179.99
Preston
Wed 23rd Oct - Wed 23rd Oct
From £179.99
Preston
Wed 20th Nov - Wed 20th Nov
From £179.99
Preston
Mon 16th Dec - Mon 16th Dec
From £179.99
Reading - APLH
Mon 30th Sep - Mon 30th Sep
From £149.99
Reading - APLH
Fri 29th Nov - Fri 29th Nov
From £149.99
Sheffield
Fri 30th Aug - Fri 30th Aug
From £149.99
Sheffield
Fri 27th Sep - Fri 27th Sep
From £149.99
Sheffield
Fri 25th Oct - Fri 25th Oct
From £149.99
Sheffield
Fri 22nd Nov - Fri 22nd Nov
From £149.99
Sheffield
Fri 20th Dec - Fri 20th Dec
From £149.99
Slough
Fri 13th Sep - Fri 13th Sep
From £149.99
Slough
Fri 11th Oct - Fri 11th Oct
From £149.99
Slough
Fri 08th Nov - Fri 08th Nov
From £149.99
Slough
Fri 06th Dec - Fri 06th Dec
From £149.99
Southampton
Thu 24th Oct - Thu 24th Oct
From £139.99
Southampton
Thu 28th Nov - Thu 28th Nov
From £139.99
Stoke-on-Trent - APLH
Tue 03rd Sep - Tue 03rd Sep
From £179.99
Stoke-on-Trent - APLH
Tue 08th Oct - Tue 08th Oct
From £179.99
Stoke-on-Trent - APLH
Tue 05th Nov - Tue 05th Nov
From £179.99
Stoke-on-Trent - APLH
Tue 03rd Dec - Tue 03rd Dec
From £179.99
Swansea - APLH
Tue 27th Aug - Tue 27th Aug
From £179.99
Swansea - APLH
Tue 17th Sep - Tue 17th Sep
From £179.99
Swansea - APLH
Tue 15th Oct - Tue 15th Oct
From £179.99
Swansea - APLH
Tue 19th Nov - Tue 19th Nov
From £179.99
Swansea - APLH
Tue 17th Dec - Tue 17th Dec
From £179.99
Watford
Fri 04th Oct - Fri 04th Oct
From £149.99
Watford
Thu 05th Dec - Thu 05th Dec
From £149.99
Wolverhampton
Tue 08th Oct - Tue 08th Oct
From £149.99
Wolverhampton
Fri 13th Dec - Fri 13th Dec
From £149.99
York
Mon 19th Aug - Mon 19th Aug
From £149.99
York
Mon 21st Oct - Mon 21st Oct
From £149.99
York
Wed 04th Dec - Wed 04th Dec
From £149.99

Personal Licence Application process

You must apply to the licensing authority of the district or borough in which you live, not where you work. You can find your local authority by entering your postcode here.

The requirements for a successful Personal Licence application are as follows:

Correctly filled personal licence application

Two passport photos - one of these must be endorsed

Original Level 2 Award for Personal Licence Holders certificate

Proof of entitlement to work in the UK

Disclosure of criminal convictions and declaration

Application fee

The application fee is usually £37. You may post the completed application to the Licencing Team at the local authority. Some local councils also accept walk-in applications.

Most personal licence applications take a maximum of 20 working days to be processed.