bg-img
Trusted by 300,000+ customers

Scottish Personal Licence Training (SCPLH)


The Licensing (Scotland) Act 2005 states that anyone who authorises the sale of alcohol to the public must hold a personal licence. To apply for a personal license, you must first gain a Scottish Certificate for Personal Licence Holders (SCPLH) qualification.

Course NAME

Scottish Personal Licence Training (SCPLH)

DURATION 1 day
FROM £200
MANDATORY REQUIREMENT FOR Award for Personal Licence Holders (APLH)
ELIGIBILITY 18+ years
ENTRY REQUIREMENTS Work in a sector that requires sale of alcohol
ASSESSMENT

Multiple Choice Exam (40 questions)

Get Licenced

What is the Scottish Personal Licence training course about?

The Scottish Certificate for Personal Licence Holders (SCPLH) is a nationally recognised training qualification and candidates must have this before they can apply for their personal licence.

This is a Level 5 qualification that will help you advance in your career prospects inside the licensed trade division in Scotland.

Please Note - Scottish law dictates that personal licence holders must undertake refresher training within five years of getting their licence, or they will have their licence revoked.

If you are based in Wales or England you will need to apply for the Personal Licence (APLH)

What does the course include?

This one-day course will provide you with all the relevant training and accreditation required to legally sell and authorise the sale of alcohol at any licensed premises in Scotland for those looking to pursue a career in hospitality and the bar industry.

This one-day course will provide each learner with a clear understanding of the framework of law and regulation that underpins the responsibilities of the personal licence holder.

The Personal license SCPLH course runs over 1-day and is divided into the following units:

  • Rationale for the development of the Licensing (Scotland) Act 2005
  • Overview of the licensing function
  • Key roles - the roles, responsibilities and functions of Licensing Boards and Licensing Standards Officers
  • Licences and operating conditions
  • Protection of children from harm
  • Associated law
  • The content and purpose of an operating schedule and risk assessment
  • Roles and responsibilities of the personal licence holder and the penalties relating to failure to comply with the law
  • licensed hours
  • Unauthorised licensable activities
  • Alcohol and Illegal drugs
  • Drunkenness and disorderly behaviour
  • Rights of entry to licensed premises
  • Social responsibility
  • The strengths of alcoholic drinks and the effects of alcohol on the human body.
  • Community links

This course also includes a multiple-choice question examination consiting of 40 questions.

Get the course

At Get Licensed, you'll find courses in multiple locations all over the UK. From London to Glasgow and every other location in-between. Get Licensed is the leading training booking platform in the UK.

Get booked

All courses booked with Get Licensed include:

  • Training Guarantee: You get the course you purchased or an instant refund.
  • Price Match: You won't find the same course cheaper anywhere else.
  • After Hours Customer Support: We are available after hours via chat and telephone.
  • Secure Booking: Your details are safe with industry-standard SSL protection.

Upcoming course dates

ABERDEEN - SCPLH
Mon 18th Nov - Mon 18th Nov
From £167.99
ABERDEEN - SCPLH
Mon 16th Dec - Mon 16th Dec
From £167.99
ABERDEEN - SCPLH
Mon 13th Jan - Mon 13th Jan
From £167.99
ABERDEEN - SCPLH
Mon 10th Feb - Mon 10th Feb
From £167.99
ABERDEEN - SCPLH
Mon 09th Mar - Mon 09th Mar
From £167.99
ABERDEEN - SCPLH
Mon 06th Apr - Mon 06th Apr
From £167.99
ABERDEEN - SCPLH
Mon 04th May - Mon 04th May
From £167.99
ABERDEEN - SCPLH
Mon 01st Jun - Mon 01st Jun
From £167.99
ABERDEEN - SCPLH
Mon 29th Jun - Mon 29th Jun
From £167.99
ABERDEEN - SCPLH
Mon 27th Jul - Mon 27th Jul
From £167.99
ABERDEEN - SCPLH
Mon 24th Aug - Mon 24th Aug
From £167.99
ABERDEEN - SCPLH
Mon 21st Sep - Mon 21st Sep
From £167.99
ABERDEEN - SCPLH
Mon 19th Oct - Mon 19th Oct
From £167.99
ABERDEEN - SCPLH
Mon 16th Nov - Mon 16th Nov
From £167.99
ABERDEEN - SCPLH
Mon 14th Dec - Mon 14th Dec
From £167.99
AYR
Thu 28th Nov - Thu 28th Nov
From £179.99
AYR
Thu 30th Jan - Thu 30th Jan
From £179.99
AYR
Thu 27th Feb - Thu 27th Feb
From £179.99
AYR
Thu 26th Mar - Thu 26th Mar
From £179.99
AYR
Thu 30th Apr - Thu 30th Apr
From £179.99
AYR
Thu 28th May - Thu 28th May
From £179.99
AYR
Thu 25th Jun - Thu 25th Jun
From £179.99
Dundee - SCPLH
Wed 11th Dec - Wed 11th Dec
From £167.99
Dundee - SCPLH
Wed 15th Jan - Wed 15th Jan
From £167.99
Dundee - SCPLH
Wed 12th Feb - Wed 12th Feb
From £167.99
Dundee - SCPLH
Wed 11th Mar - Wed 11th Mar
From £167.99
Dundee - SCPLH
Wed 08th Apr - Wed 08th Apr
From £167.99
Dundee - SCPLH
Wed 06th May - Wed 06th May
From £167.99
Dundee - SCPLH
Wed 03rd Jun - Wed 03rd Jun
From £167.99
Dundee - SCPLH
Wed 01st Jul - Wed 01st Jul
From £167.99
Dundee - SCPLH
Wed 29th Jul - Wed 29th Jul
From £167.99
Dundee - SCPLH
Wed 26th Aug - Wed 26th Aug
From £167.99
Dundee - SCPLH
Wed 23rd Sep - Wed 23rd Sep
From £167.99
Dundee - SCPLH
Wed 21st Oct - Wed 21st Oct
From £167.99
Dundee - SCPLH
Wed 18th Nov - Wed 18th Nov
From £167.99
Dundee - SCPLH
Wed 16th Dec - Wed 16th Dec
From £167.99
Edinburgh
Tue 21st Jan - Tue 21st Jan
From £179.99
Edinburgh
Wed 12th Feb - Wed 12th Feb
From £179.99
Edinburgh
Tue 10th Mar - Tue 10th Mar
From £179.99
Edinburgh
Wed 22nd Apr - Wed 22nd Apr
From £179.99
Edinburgh
Tue 12th May - Tue 12th May
From £179.99
Edinburgh
Wed 10th Jun - Wed 10th Jun
From £179.99
Edinburgh - SCPLH
Tue 10th Dec - Tue 10th Dec
From £179.99
Edinburgh - SCPLH
Tue 21st Jan - Tue 21st Jan
From £179.99
Edinburgh - SCPLH
Wed 12th Feb - Wed 12th Feb
From £179.99
Edinburgh - SCPLH
Tue 10th Mar - Tue 10th Mar
From £179.99
Edinburgh - SCPLH
Wed 22nd Apr - Wed 22nd Apr
From £179.99
Edinburgh - SCPLH
Tue 12th May - Tue 12th May
From £179.99
Edinburgh - SCPLH
Wed 10th Jun - Wed 10th Jun
From £179.99
Glasgow
Tue 07th Jan - Tue 07th Jan
From £179.99
Glasgow
Tue 04th Feb - Thu 27th Feb
From £179.99
Glasgow
Tue 03rd Mar - Thu 26th Mar
From £179.99
Glasgow
Tue 07th Apr - Thu 30th Apr
From £179.99
Glasgow
Tue 05th May - Thu 28th May
From £179.99
Glasgow
Tue 02nd Jun - Thu 25th Jun
From £179.99
Glasgow - SCPLH
Tue 03rd Dec - Tue 03rd Dec
From £179.99
Glasgow - SCPLH
Tue 07th Jan - Tue 07th Jan
From £179.99
Glasgow - SCPLH
Tue 04th Feb - Thu 27th Feb
From £179.99
Glasgow - SCPLH
Tue 03rd Mar - Thu 26th Mar
From £179.99
Glasgow - SCPLH
Tue 07th Apr - Thu 30th Apr
From £179.99
Glasgow - SCPLH
Tue 05th May - Thu 28th May
From £179.99
Glasgow - SCPLH
Tue 02nd Jun - Thu 25th Jun
From £179.99
Inverness - SCPLH
Tue 14th Jan - Tue 14th Jan
From £167.99
Inverness - SCPLH
Tue 25th Feb - Tue 25th Feb
From £167.99
Inverness - SCPLH
Tue 07th Apr - Tue 07th Apr
From £167.99
Inverness - SCPLH
Wed 20th May - Wed 20th May
From £167.99
Inverness - SCPLH
Tue 30th Jun - Tue 30th Jun
From £167.99
Inverness - SCPLH
Tue 11th Aug - Tue 11th Aug
From £167.99
Inverness - SCPLH
Tue 22nd Sep - Tue 22nd Sep
From £167.99
Inverness - SCPLH
Tue 03rd Nov - Tue 03rd Nov
From £167.99
Inverness - SCPLH
Tue 15th Dec - Tue 15th Dec
From £167.99
Perth
Thu 14th Nov - Thu 14th Nov
From £179.99
Perth
Tue 14th Jan - Tue 14th Jan
From £179.99
Perth
Thu 27th Feb - Thu 27th Feb
From £179.99
Perth
Thu 26th Mar - Thu 26th Mar
From £179.99
Perth
Thu 23rd Apr - Thu 23rd Apr
From £179.99
Perth
Thu 21st May - Thu 21st May
From £179.99
Perth
Thu 25th Jun - Thu 25th Jun
From £179.99

Personal Licence Application process

You must apply to the licensing authority of the district or borough in which you live, not where you work. You can find your local authority by entering your postcode here.

The requirements for a successful Personal Licence application are as follows:

Correctly filled personal licence application

Two passport photos - one of these must be endorsed

Original Level 2 Award for Personal Licence Holders certificate

Right of work in the UK

Disclosure of criminal convictions and declaration

Application fee

You may post the completed application to the Licencing Team at the local authority. Some local councils also accept walk-in applications.

Most personal licence applications take a maximum of 20 working days to be processed. 

Book this Course

Get Licensed
The UK’s number one

Over 300,00+ customers have chosen us to book their course.

Price Match

You won’t find the same course cheaper any where else.

Training Guarantee

You get the course you purchased or an instant refund.

Employee Toolkit

From CV builder to Every thing you need to get the right job for you



Frequently asked
questions

SCPLH stands for Scottish Certificate for Personal Licence Holders.

10 years from the date of issue, unless revoked earlier by the Licensing Board.

If you need to sell alcohol as part of your job then yes. Anybody engaged in an occupation that requires them to authorise sales of alcohol in Scotland should take the Scottish Certificate for Personal Licence Holders. This generally includes new staff seeking promotion through to staff at managerial levels.

To get your personal licence, the first step is to attend and pass the 1-day personal licence course. Once you pass and receive your certificate, you can apply via your local licensing authority (usually your local council).

At the end of the course you will be required to sit a 40-question multiple choice examination.

Certificates are dispatched 4 - 6 weeks after successful course completion via Royal Mail. We aim to post your certificate within 2 days after receiving it from your training provider. We will send you an email once we have dispatched your certificate. If you opted for Secured Delivery, your certificate will be posted with a service requiring your signature.

If you are a Personal Licence Holder and you wish to continue to be a Personal Licence Holder, then you must complete refresher training 5 years after the date that your Personal Licence was issued. This must be taken every 5 years.

If you do not complete your refresher training within the correct time period, and submit your refresher training certificate to your licensing board, then you will no longer be considered a Personal Licence Holder and you will no longer be able to authorise the sale or service of alcohol.



How much
can you earn?

SELECT YOUR DREAM JOB
HOURS WORK A WEEK

POTENTIAL YEARLY EARNINGS

£25,200

£1,710

MONTHLY TAKE HOME

Is this course
right for me?

Answer a few simple questions and find out if this is the right course for you.